2013 Regional EMS Award Winners

EMS Regional AwardsCentral Shenandoah EMS Council, honored the dedication and commitment of its Emergency Medical Services (EMS) providers at the council’s regional awards ceremony July 24, 2013, held at Gypsy Hill Park in Staunton.  

“I’m so proud to be able to honor the EMS providers who serve in our region,” said CSEMSC President, Gary Critzer.  “These award recipients, represent the “best of the best.  While EMS professionals are trained to respond appropriately during medical emergencies, it’s a very difficult job. It’s important to honor emergency medical service providers for serving our community members during their most vulnerable moments,” he added.

“The Central Shenandoah EMS Council’s Regional EMS Awards program provides local EMS personnel the opportunity to recognize the outstanding efforts of their fellow emergency medical responders,” said Chad Blosser, Executive Director of the Council.  “Each year, there are EMS providers and system participants who stand out for their extraordinary accomplishments.”

“Some recipients have demonstrated a superior level of commitment to patient care, some have made strides toward improving the local emergency medical services system and still others have made significant ancillary contributions to the local EMS system.  It’s important that the system acknowledge their contributions toward public health, safety and wellness.” he added.

Recipients of this year’s regional awards compete for the 2013 Governor’s EMS Awards, which will be announced at the Virginia EMS Symposium’s Annual Awards Ceremony, November 10, in Norfolk, Va. Winners will be presented with a trophy and a certificate signed by the Governor.

The 2013 Central Shenandoah EMS Council Award Recipients (click the winner’s name to see more):

  • Excellence in EMS – Wayne Peer, Rockingham County Fire & Rescue
  • Physician with Outstanding Contribution to EMS – Nazir Adam, MD, RMH Healthcare
  • Outstanding EMS Telecommunications Dispatcher – Kenneth Via, Augusta County Emergency Communications Center
  • Outstanding Pre-Hospital Educator – Jolene Powell, Rockingham County Fire & Rescue
  • Outstanding Pre-Hospital Provider – Patricia Mays, Buena Vista Rescue Squad
  • Outstanding EMS Agency – Grottoes Volunteer Fire Department
  • Outstanding EMS Administrator – Chris Vernovai, Highland County Volunteer Rescue Squad
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a High School Senior ($1,000) – Alexandra Holloway, Grottoes Volunteer Fire Department
  • Nurse with Outstanding Contribution to EMS – Krystal Caricofe, RMH Healthcare

Local Awards:

  • Kevin Sperka Memorial Award – Brandon Sites, Broadway Emergency Squad