McAuliffe Names Critzer to State Board of Health

Today, Governor Terry McAuliffe announced appointments to his Administration. Of the many qualified people in EMS and Fire Departments around the state, Governor McAuliffe has selected the Director of the Department of Emergency Management and EMS for the City of Waynesboro and president of the Central Shenandoah EMS Council Board of Directors, Gary P. Critzer, NRP, CCEMTP to serve a four-year term on the State Board of Health.

The 2009 Virginia General Assembly legislated a new position on the State Board of Health to represent the EMS community.  The legislation states:

“The EMS Community Representative shall be a representative of the Emergency Medical Services community . . . and will provide the State Board of Health with leadership and technical assistance regarding all matters related to EMS. The individual will work cooperatively as a member of the Board of Health to enhance EMS system coordination, planning and response to ensure the provision of the highest quality Emergency Medical Care to citizens and visitors of the Commonwealth.”

Upon learning of the appointment, Director Critzer said: “I am honored to be selected by the Governor for this distinguished position. The ability to represent Virginia’s EMS system on the State Board of Health is an honor and a privilege.  The addition of a seat on the Board of Health to represent Virginia’s EMS community demonstrates the importance of EMS as a key participant in Virginia’s public health system.”

Director Critzer manages the Waynesboro Emergency Operations Center which is staffed 24/7 year-round by a staff of highly trained public safety dispatchers. He is also responsible for the coordination of emergency medical services in the city and emergency management (disaster preparedness / planning, response, recovery, and mitigation), as well as local Homeland Security initiatives.  Among his many accomplishments, Director Critzer serves as Chair of the State EMS Advisory Board and remains an active Nationally Registered Paramedic, Critical Care Paramedic, and is a certified Education Coordinator.  He received the Governors Awards for Excellence in EMS in 2007 and Outstanding EMS Administrator in 2003.